Skip to content

Time Traveller’s Wife ? 1

December 4, 2006

For more information on Audrey Niffenegger, check out her site here. Not only is she a author, but artist and teacher as well. You can also check out Writer Unboxed for an interview with her. She is currently at work on her second novel Her Fearful Symmetry.

Don’t forget, voting is now open for our next book. Click on the link in the sidebar to cast your vote. Now, onto the first question!

How does the writer introduce the reader to the concept of time travel as a realistic occurrence? Does she succeed?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2006 12:49 pm

    Initially I had trouble with the concept but as the novel went on it became more and more realistic to me. I’ve always been a fan of science fiction and I had always equated time travel with science fiction, however in this case, I didn’t feel it was out of the realm of everyday life…I felt I could grasp the concept.

  2. December 4, 2006 1:37 pm

    Heather F here!

    I agree with the other Heather. At first I had a little trouble with it, but as it when on I was able to suspend belief pretty easily and just went with it. Of course, I rarely have trouble doing that.

    And yes, I rather thought she did succeed in making it seem a little realistic. The fact that she de-glamorized it a bit instead of romanticizing it made it easier to bear. It wasn’t an easy, piece of cake kind of thing for Henry to do.

  3. December 4, 2006 1:55 pm

    I’m third in favor of what the two Heathers said. And yes, it wasn’t just floating in from one time period to another, it was smack yourself, bleed and throw up.

  4. December 4, 2006 3:10 pm

    The first time I read the book it was very difficult for me follow the whole time travel thing. I read the first few chapters a couple of times, but because I thought she did write it in such a realistic manner I had no trouble believing it. I agree with the above post as well, in that since she did not glamourize the whole thing it was easier to believe.

  5. December 4, 2006 4:01 pm

    Once I got used to it (after a few chapters), it was easy to believe within the context of the story. As others have said, the fact that it was so difficult made it a little more belivable. In addition, Henry had no control over it. That helped, too!

  6. December 4, 2006 5:57 pm

    I think she did a wonderful job at making time travel seem like an everyday occurance. I was a bit put off when I found out what we were going to read, because I am not one for scifi and thought this would be like a “back to the future” but after reading this book, I think I have a different perspective.

  7. December 4, 2006 10:49 pm

    I liked that she portrayed the characters (and Henry) as flawed, “real” people – it helped make the time travel pill a little easier to swallow. Yup, I would say she succeeded.

  8. December 5, 2006 3:15 pm

    I found the idea fascinating. She allowed for a genetic issue to cause this and to almost make it work. The one issue of time travel that I didn’t like was that at one point, Henry says that he knows nothing past 43, but he clearly can visit past his death. Maybe just a gotcha in her logic, or just a condition that at that point in his monotomic time that he hadn’t gone forward yet…

  9. Wendy permalink
    December 5, 2006 8:14 pm

    I agree that the characters were so well written and believable that I found myself easily accepting Henry’s genetic fluke. I too had to read back over a few events a couple times in order to follow the plot, but after a while it just seemed natural.

  10. Carrie permalink
    December 6, 2006 12:05 am

    I was completely accepting of the way she handled the time travel as a medical issue. I agree with Wendy that the characters were so rich and the story so compelling to me, it was easy to overlook any technicalities in this area.

  11. December 8, 2006 11:39 am

    Sorry I’m joining this discussion a bit late!

    I found some aspects realistic – like how he couldn’t transport anything but his own body. That tied in with the genetic mutation theory. But it seemed to me that if it occurred as haphazardly as it did, especially under times of stress, that he would have been found out long before he was and with greater notoriety.

Leave a Reply

