Skip to content

One big book

November 18, 2006

Just like Maureen mentioned in her last post, I had heard through the book blogsphere about the Chunkster Challenge (chunkster = really big book). Even though I just don’t have the time to participate in this sort of challenge, if I did I would definitely pick up The Thornbirds again.

 

I had read this book about five years ago on the recommendation of my husband. He had watched the mini-series staring Richard Chamberlain (now available on DVD) back in 1983. 

The book comes in at 704 pages, which means it is pretty darn big. It is the epic story of the Cleary family, their lives in Australia and the love of young Meggie for a local priest, Father Ralph. The struggle between his feelings for Meggie and his religious ambition make for one heck of a story.

Recently, I shared this book with two of my girlfriends, who both enjoyed it very much. So, if you are in a reading slump and need to add one more book to your chunkster list, consider The Thornbirds.

On another note, just in case you were wondering if all we ever do is read, Maureen and I each have other (non-reading) blogs that we update on a regular basis. Maureen writes about her daily life with an almost one year old boy at The Collin Chronicles. I write all about knitting, crafting and cooking at Me So Crafty.

– Stephanie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2006 1:19 pm

    I love the book and the show! I should read it again.

  2. November 20, 2006 2:35 pm

    This is on my list for re-reads. It’s been over twenty years since I first read (and loved) it! The movie is wonderful, too.

  3. November 20, 2006 4:39 pm

    Hi again. Yes, I would like to be listed as a participant. Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  4. November 21, 2006 6:52 pm

    Oh, my mom loved the miniseries and I remember watching it with her and becoming a fan myself. I did give her the book one Christmas, but I haven’t read it myself.

  5. November 26, 2006 1:02 am

    I read this book in high school and never really got it. Am more of a GONE WITH THE WIND fan myself…

  6. Donna permalink
    November 28, 2006 1:51 pm

    I remember reading the book right after the mini-series. Loved it then but can’t believe it was over twenty years ago!

Leave a Reply

