Skip to content

A Season For Challenges

November 15, 2006

I’ve been sort of MIA on the blog scene lately because I’m trying to spend more time actually reading books, as opposed to blogs! But last night I did spend some time catching up at some of my favorite bookish blogs. One thing I’ve noticed to be popular in the book blogosphere are the reading challenges. I’m always hesitant to commit myself to particpate in any of these because I don’t read well under pressure, but it’s fun to follow along and track what other people are reading. There are quite a few Fall/Winter Challenges going on right now.  Here’s a couple worth checking out….

From the Stacks over at Overdue Books: I like this one because you’re required to pull your choices from books you already have. This one would be great for me because I’m looking for ways to avoid buying MORE BOOKS!

Classics Challenge @ A Readers Journal: I’ve been trying to increase the number of classics I read. I tried to focus on this genre during the summer without much success. War and Peace is glaring at me from the bookshelf as we speak!

Chunkster Challenge @ Bookfool: I just love to say “Chunkster”.  I also find that it is so satisfying to finish one of those giant novels that tend to look so intimidating…again, like War and Peace!

Finally, there is also the TBR 2007 Challenge @ Literary Cache. This one is just a general reading challenge for the coming new year.

By the by, I’ll be reviewing this book in the near future. I just finished it last night. I was compelled to do so because it was just too good to put down.  One little tidbit, the narrator of the book was Death.

Happy Reading!

Maureen

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2006 1:30 pm

    I look forward to your review on The Book Thief. It’s my favorite of 2006 and I doubt anything will come close in the next few weeks.

  2. November 15, 2006 5:36 pm

    Hmm, I wish I could catch up with recent readings. I hate to spend too much money on books and I use my library, but I still haven’t gotten October’s book…

  3. November 15, 2006 8:01 pm

    I loved The Book Thief, too. Can’t wait to hear your response to it.

  4. November 16, 2006 3:38 pm

    Thanks for bringing The Book Thief to my attention. I’ve put it on my list to read. It sounds intriguing.

  5. November 19, 2006 10:09 pm

    I tried the summer reading challenge; it’s an excellent way of getting people to read!

Trackbacks

  1. One big book « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

