Skip to content

The Thirteenth Tale – Discussion Question #6

November 7, 2006

The story shifts significantly after the death of Mrs. Dunne and John Digence. Adeline steps forward as intelligent, well-spoken, and confident — the “girl in the mists” emerges. Did you believe this miraculous transformation? If not, what did you suspect was really going on?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2006 4:51 pm

    Having read only up to that part of the book at the time, I thought the author had totally “dropped the ball” when it came to Adeline. How could she possibly be the same person who could hardly communicate one day, then turn into the exact opposite so quickly? Of course, reading on I found out the truth and then understood completely. Just like Heather at A Hidden Place mentioned, I didn’t see that one coming!!

  2. November 8, 2006 1:36 am

    I cannot wait for the Time Traveller’s Wife discussions to begin! I LOVED that book; it is beautifully imagined and written! 🙂
    Great choice!

  3. November 8, 2006 10:05 am

    I was knocked for a loop as well. It must be the sleep deprivation I’ve been experiencing with Collin the last few weeks. My reading skills are below par!

  4. November 9, 2006 10:59 am

    Hi! (waving) Just popping in to say, I FINALLY got my book – Thirteenth Tale – through interlibrary loan, just as you guys are finishing up. Oh well. I read Time Travelers already, long enough ago that I don’t remember too much but not long enough ago that I want to reread it. I guess I’ll catch up with you guys on a future book.

    Always out of step, Viv

  5. November 9, 2006 2:42 pm

    I thought some radical transformation had taken place, I had no suspicion that it was not really Adeline.

  6. November 9, 2006 4:51 pm

    Didn’t catch that either. I’m don’t think that it is a completely unrealistic thing to to think that a child can have a dramatic transformation like that given all the traumatic things going on.

  7. November 9, 2006 8:45 pm

    Stephanie – I love your new header! is that an image from your bookshelf because if so, I love very one of those books so much!

  8. November 11, 2006 4:53 pm

    I also thought that Emmerline might have been autistic. I think she may of written a character with those trates, but never fully developed her.

  9. November 13, 2006 1:08 pm

    A little late answering, but I just thought that Adeline was so manipulative that she was hiding herself until it was absolutely necessary to come “out.” I never considered it wasn’t Adeline.

  10. November 18, 2006 9:37 am

    I agree totally with Nicole’s comment 🙂

  11. Lori permalink
    April 20, 2007 2:01 pm

    I believe that it was completely possible for any child to make that transformation. She was a child that was basically abandoned she did whatever she wanted and the way she wanted.

    We all have to grow up some time. I don’t think it was that much of a stretch for her to have decided OK now I must be an adult and went through the motions.

    Of course now I know what really happened

Leave a Reply

