Skip to content

The Thirteenth Tale – Discussion Question #3

November 6, 2006

When did you first suspect Miss Winter’s true identity? Whether you knew of not, looking back, what clues does she give to Margaret (and what clues does the author give you)?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2006 3:20 pm

    I realized that something was going on when Margaret points out how strange it is that Vida refers to herself in the third person when talking about her past.

  2. Donna permalink
    November 6, 2006 11:18 pm

    Miss Winter’s true identity surprised me. I had thought that when she switched from third to first was after the twins were separated. Now I’m going to have to go back and look for the missed clues.

  3. November 7, 2006 11:30 am

    I didn’t clue in until it was pretty obvious – probably just a few pages before Margaret figured it out. Other than the voice switch, I can’t think of any clues, but I’m sure they’re in there. Perhaps a second read would reveal them.

  4. November 7, 2006 1:27 pm

    I was surprised too! Clues??? Well I guess the odd/abusive behavior of the brother could have been a clue that there had to be another child some where!

  5. November 7, 2006 4:02 pm

    I didn’t have a clue. I tend to get lost when I’m reading and don’t really think ahead or try to figure things out ahead of time. I like to be as surprised as possible. I’m really good at it too. Didn’t see it coming at all!

  6. November 8, 2006 9:24 am

    I, too, was surprised with her identity. Thinking back, I think they tried to give clues, like the third person, but I just thought Miss Winter was eccentric. I thought it was a great twist.

  7. November 8, 2006 10:02 am

    I was pretty clueless as to her true identity. I suspected something was going on, with all the mentions of ghosts throughout the story, but I didn’t pick up on Miss Winter’s true identity.

  8. November 9, 2006 4:36 pm

    I never caught on either. Looking back, maybe the fact that Emmeline seemed to recover faster from the seperation from her twin would indicate that there was another child, and thus another companion for her in the house.

  9. November 11, 2006 4:55 pm

    I wasnt’ going to participate in this one, but I do have this book so I might after I finish the one I am reading now. I have had this book for awhile, but never read it. Now seems like a good enough time.

  10. Mrs Pushy permalink
    November 13, 2006 2:11 pm

    I never even had a clue. Honestly, I didn’t care for this particular twist in the story. I found it to be rather far fetched, and I had a hard time with how everything supposedly tied together.

  11. Lori permalink
    April 20, 2007 2:05 pm

    I was SO clueless. Margaret says to Vida “where was your mother” or something like that. I didn’t even get it then. I kept on reading.

    Then I heard Vida refer say the bad sister by name. (I forget her name right now) and I was like. wait.. I must have read that wrong and went back and re read a few pages.

    I was completely clueless

Leave a Reply

