Skip to content

The Thirteenth Tale – Discussion Question #1

November 5, 2006

Miss Winter asks Margaret if she’d like to hear a ghost story – in fact, there seems to be several ghost stories weaving their way through. In what ways is The Thirteenth Tale a classic, Gothic novel?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2006 10:54 am

    When I think of classic gothic novels I think of ghosts almost always. Not conventional ghosts but rather the ghosts of the past. In other words the characters’ personal demons, etc.

  2. November 5, 2006 3:08 pm

    I agree with Heather, when I think of a gothic novel I think of the uncoventional ghost. And of course the beautiful language that is on every page of this story. I have to admit to running to my dictionary to confirm what I thought an unfamiliar word meant! Great read!

  3. November 5, 2006 8:10 pm

    I also felt like the language really gave this book its gothic feel, as well as the setting of the story. Something about estates in England makes me think “gothic”.

  4. November 6, 2006 9:25 am

    When I think of the gothic novel, I think dark, spooky, psychologically disturbing work with lots of castles, English accents, and dark and spooky nights. And I agree, I think the language has a lot to do with it as well.

  5. November 7, 2006 11:24 am

    I also think of Decay. Not just physical as in a falling down house but also moral. And, there seems to be some of that going on in this story as well. Oh and secrets, lots of secrets.

  6. November 7, 2006 11:27 am

    I agree with the others’ comments – very atmospheric storytelling with elements of the supernatural. Having the moors make an appearance didn’t hurt either! I think this was a classic example of a gothic novel – and an excellent one at that!

  7. November 10, 2006 8:40 pm

    Gothic…. I agree with everyone’s comments from above; the darkness, the ghosts, the whole atmosphere of the story. If I may add something a little more controversial, I would say that another element to the Gothic feel of the novel is inappropriate relationships. There always seems to be some deviant or sexualized behavior going on in Gothic novels.

Leave a Reply

