Skip to content

What will our next book be?

October 25, 2006

I was spellbound. There is something about words. In expert hands, manipulated deftly, they take you prisoner. Wind themselves around your limbs like spider silk, and when you are so enthralled you cannot move, they pierce your skin, enter your blood, numb you thoughts. Inside you they work their magic.

This is one of my favorite passages from The Thirteenth Tale. I am almost finished with the book so I will be ready when our discussion begins on November 5th. In the meantime, please e-mail me at forksblog@optonline.net with your book suggestions for our next club pick. I will be taking suggestions until the end of day Monday, October 30th. I then plan to post a poll shortly thereafter with four books to vote on.

Someone had suggested including some of the previous poll books back up for voting (the ones that lost out). Here’s the idea. Next month (end of November), instead of taking suggestions, I will post the four books that came in at second place in the last four polls (including this one). Does this sound good for everyone?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ARIEL permalink
    October 25, 2006 9:56 pm

    Anyone who liked The Thirttenth Tale should read The Ghost Orchid. Similiar themes – Spooky house, old family secrets. It’s a good read.

  2. October 25, 2006 10:00 pm

    I finished the thirteenth tale this past weekend. LOVED IT! The language was just beautiful. Can’t wait for the discussion. As for our next book how about Amy Tan’s Saving Fish from Drowning.

    Maryellen

  3. October 26, 2006 7:32 am

    My plan is to read TTT this weekend, and judging by all the reactions to it that I’ve read thus far, I should gobble it up pretty quickly.

    Posting the runners up sounds fine to me. Do you still want suggestions or no?

  4. October 26, 2006 11:22 am

    I need to still read TTT. I seriously am screwed on reading. I have gotten a ton of Spenser novels out of the library because they are like nicotine bubble gum, I am seriously addicted to them and I can get throught them easily.

    🙂

  5. October 27, 2006 11:29 pm

    Year of Wonders is one of my favorite books of all time. I think you will love it.

  6. February 14, 2011 5:19 am

    Thank you, I have recently been looking for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

Leave a Reply

