Skip to content

Dream a little

October 17, 2006

Got this fun question from Heather’s blog who had read about it on Kailana’s blog.

Kailana writes: So, I read a few pages of the book “The Library at Night” by Alberto Manguel, and now, I want to TRY and inspire people. The opening pages of the book are the author explaining both his dream library and the library that he had to create because of the space he had. So, I was hoping, people would share their dream libraries. You can spend any amount of money, have any amount of space.

First, I can only imagine my dream library on a snowy day (otherwise I would be reading my book on my back deck). So here I am, in my library, which is a fairly large room by home library standards. There are large south facing windows that allow all the natural light reflecting off the newly fallen snow into the room. I am sitting in one of the two over-sized, over-stuffed chairs, facing a roaring, crackling fire. My feet, which are all cozy in the socks I just knitted, rest upon an ottomon. In my lap is on of my favorite quilts and my cat curled up like a ball. Next to me on the side table is a piping hot cup of tea and two sugar cookies. Oh, and books. Lots and lots of books! All alphabetized and sitting beautifully on the custom made solid wood bookshelves. This, my friends, is my dream library.

If you would like to participate, either leave a comment describing your dream library OR post about it on your own blog (but just make sure to leave a link so we can read it too)! – Stephanie

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2006 9:18 pm

    Hey Stephanie! I am so glad that this question is making the rounds! Thanks for posting on my blog, and I loved your answer! I will be checking back to this blog more often!

  2. October 17, 2006 9:22 pm

    Oh, the quoting is leaving out the book! The book that sparked this discussion is “The Library at Night” by Alberto Manguel

  3. October 18, 2006 9:19 am

    Only 2 cookies?? Hmmm…I think I’d need at least a whole box. I love to nibble when I’m reading.

    Very lovely. Isn’t it funny that the majority of readers are also cat people?

  4. October 18, 2006 3:09 pm

    I don’t know if my dream library would be a library at all, but instead a book store. Having my own book store is my dream and I’ve always had clear images in my mind on what it would look like. Dark brown mahogany entranceway,large heavy mahogany door, and a 2 huge paned front display windows. Inside would be rich brown hardwood floors, shelves lined with every book imaginable (lots of paperbacks, because I love paperbacks). Huge poetry section, and a very large magazine rack because I LOVE magazines! A fireplace and lots of big overstuffed down chairs with matching ottomans where people could cozy up and read. Everyone would know each others names, sort of like Cheers, but without the beer,or…maybe we could have beer…now THAT would really be cool….

  5. October 18, 2006 4:57 pm

    Sheri,
    Beer? Sounds like a plan (but only if they have Blue Moon on tap)!

  6. October 18, 2006 5:11 pm

    Hey, it’s my dream, I can do whatever I want. Blue Moon it is! Your wish is my command.

Leave a Reply

