Skip to content

Books to the ceiling, books to the sky….

October 17, 2006

I ordered this great print from Owl Square Press today.

The quote at the bottom reads….

“Books to the ceiling, books to the sky. My piles of books are a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I’ll have a long beard by the time I read them.”

The print will eventually be hung in our basement… which we are in the process of turning into a kid’s playarea/scrapbooking spot. The quote really sums up my reading experience lately. I have a “To Be Read” pile a mile high and I just keep adding to it. There has barely been time to put even a dent in it. I still have a summer back log of classics, including War and Peace just begging to be read. I saw an old friend from high school this past weekend and I told her about my reading woes. She said she couldn’t ever imagine me without my nose in a book!

The good news is that I have managed to finish our current selection, The Thirteenth Tale. Barnes and Noble has selected it as one of their “Barnes and Noble Recommends” selections as well, so there are some good discssion questions here, if we need them.  I am really looking forward to our discussion about this book…and that’s all I’m saying about it. No spoilers here.

– Maureen

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2006 7:24 am

    I love that print. I only wish I had more wall space. I am still working on The Thirteenth Tale – so far I have been enjoying what I have been reading!

  2. October 17, 2006 11:27 am

    I’ve seen that print before, it’s great!

    I know what you mean about “the pile”, its neverending. And also, why does it always seem that all of the library books you’ve had on hold forever seem to come in at the exact same time?

  3. October 17, 2006 2:36 pm

    Fun print. Hope you post pics of your basement when it is done!

  4. October 17, 2006 5:54 pm

    Makes me smile to think about it. As Carl says, do post pictures.

  5. October 17, 2006 7:26 pm

    I really like the picture. You’re so creative- I can’t wait to steal ideas, no, see what the finished basement looks like 😉

    As for the books, you also turned me on to Coffee Rings, for which I am currently reading As The Crow Flies. VERY thick! I bought The 13th Tale, and am hoping to plow through Crow so I have enough time to read it. I really enjoy our discussion over here~

  6. October 18, 2006 3:20 pm

    That is too cute and pretty much how my house looks like. My husband jokes that our books are what’s holding up our house (we’ve got foundation problems) so could be true 🙂

  7. October 25, 2006 12:26 am

    Maureen,

    Thanks so much for mentioning our store! We do hope you like the Arnold Lobel poster. Did it arrive ok yesterday?

    -Owl Square Press

Leave a Reply

