Skip to content

We have a winner!

October 9, 2006

Thank you all (24 people in total) for voting for our October book. With 12 of the votes, our next read is The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield.

After looking through many book blogs recently, it seems that this book has been making the rounds with glowing reviews. I myself am totally psyched to read it. I just nabbed a copy at Walmart for a little over $17 bucks. I was thinking about posting discussion questions for this book on Sunday, November 5th. Generally it takes two to three days to post all the questions. Does that sounds like a good date for you guys?

I know that Secret Girl was not a big hit, but I felt that the discussion was very interesting. I hope you guys enjoyed talking about it too. If you missed all the comments regarding the book, just check out the last couple of posts (or the Secret Girl category on my sidebar).

Anyway, for more information about The Thirteenth Tale, read what Publishers Weekly had to say about the book: Margaret Lea, a London bookseller’s daughter, has written an obscure biography that suggests deep understanding of siblings. She is contacted by renowned aging author Vida Winter, who finally wishes to tell her own, long-hidden, life story. Margaret travels to Yorkshire, where she interviews the dying writer, walks the remains of her estate at Angelfield and tries to verify the old woman’s tale of a governess, a ghost and more than one abandoned baby. With the aid of colorful Aurelius Love, Margaret puzzles out generations of Angelfield: destructive Uncle Charlie; his elusive sister, Isabelle; their unhappy parents; Isabelle’s twin daughters, Adeline and Emmeline; and the children’s caretakers. Contending with ghosts and with a (mostly) scary bunch of living people, Setterfield’s sensible heroine is, like Jane Eyre, full of repressed feeling—and is unprepared for both heartache and romance. And like Jane, she’s a real reader and makes a terrific narrator. That’s where the comparisons end, but Setterfield, who lives in Yorkshire, offers graceful storytelling that has its own pleasures.  

 – Stephanie

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2006 12:11 pm

    I’m very excited about this book!

  2. October 9, 2006 5:27 pm

    I guess I need to come out of lurkdom and officially join this group. I have The Thirteenth Tale and plan to start it as soon as I finish my current read (The Book Thief), which btw, is AWESOME! So, here I am. 🙂

  3. October 9, 2006 8:05 pm

    I think I will stop by Walmart tomorrow to see if they have this. Good choice for this time of year.

  4. October 10, 2006 1:15 am

    Okay now you have done it. I wasn’t going to read this one because I have been so busy and am in the middle of reading The Preacher’s Daughter by Beverly Lewis. Mom called me and told me to come over and vote for this book. I told her I wasn’t going to because I didn’t have time to read it and she said that’s ok she wanted me to vote for it anyway so that it would win. Can you believe it, mom wanted me to manipulate the vote. I ended up getting hooked on the book and voting anyway and today I bought the book, so count me in. Thanks. Like I needed another book. Oh well what can I do. This one sounded too good to pass up.

  5. Sheri permalink
    October 10, 2006 9:54 am

    Great! I’m excited about this book, especially since it seems to be living up to all the hype it’s received. I have a copy on hold at the library but if it takes to long I’m gonna hit Walmart too.

    Sidenote – Right now I am reading The Keep- By Jennifer Egan, and it’s very good!

  6. October 10, 2006 11:01 am

    I’m almost done with this one so count me in to participate in the discussion 🙂

  7. October 10, 2006 12:55 pm

    Oh goody – I’m adding it to my Amazon list right now!!!

  8. October 10, 2006 11:32 pm

    I wasn’t able to participate in last month’s choice simply due to the fact that I couldn’t find the book at the library and extra funds are already allocated to holiday shopping. For the first time in my life, I am shopping ahead of time and man am I proud of myself. 😀 I digress.

    I will check out the library this week for this selection! I’m excited

  9. October 11, 2006 5:53 pm

    Woo!! Thanks for letting me know this was the choice! I’m in whether it is the New Author November choice over at Our Coffee Rings or not!

  10. October 12, 2006 6:33 pm

    Count me in on the discussion. I’ve finished it, so I may forget everything by Nov.

  11. October 12, 2006 10:03 pm

    Great! Life has been pretty hectic lately (we are in the process of moving), but I should be able to read this in time for the discussion. This is one book I have really looked forward to reading ever since Heather (from ‘A High and Hidden Place’) first mentioned it on her blog.

  12. October 17, 2006 9:29 pm

    I have read this book, and I loved it! I will be sure to tune in to see how the discussion goes! If I remember it well enough, I might even join in!

Leave a Reply

