Skip to content

Childhood Favorites

September 27, 2006

littlehouse2.jpgI’ve been thinking quite a bit recently about how I came to be such a rabid reader and how reading has come to mean so much to me. I don’t think I realized how important it was until I had my son and all of the sudden my reading time was down to about 1/16 of what it used to be.  I’ve been absolutely desperate to find time to read during these last 9 months! Anyway, I started thinking back to the first books I remember reading. The hands down favorites have to be “The Little House” series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I have a wonderful memory of receiving the whole set as a gift on Christmas Eve…the gift we were allowed to open BEFORE dinner since we were driving my grandmother crazy! I guess I must have been about 9 years old. It was love at first sight for me. I devoured through them and so wanted to be Laura. What wonderful stories they were. I was feeling so nostalgic about it that I went ahead and ordered myself a new set (who knows where my first went).  This past weekend I read the first book “Little House in the Big Woods” and it was just as good as I remembered. It was such a feeling of deja vu looking at the illustrations and reading about Laura and Mary’s life in the tiny cabin. These books definitely started my love affair with reading. Now I’m planning on reading them to Collin…whenever he gets over his compulsion to eat whatever book I’m holding in my hands!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2006 8:38 pm

    I was not a big reader as a child, so I totally missed out on the Little House experience. Maybe I should order the series so Leah and I could read them together. That might be fun!

  2. September 28, 2006 2:45 am

    I loved the Little House books! I went down memory lane recently when I catalogued my LH and Anne of Green Gables collections on LibraryThing. I loved the illustrations in the LH books.

  3. September 28, 2006 2:06 pm

    I echo (the other) Lesley’s comments. The illustrations in the Little House books are fabulous. I still have my full set and should plan on a re-read of these and the Anne of Green Gables books. Maybe I’ll throw in The Secret Garden, too. Loved that book!

  4. September 28, 2006 2:33 pm

    Count me in as another who loved these books! I was hooked on the tv series as well 🙂

  5. September 29, 2006 9:01 am

    I too loved the Little House books. I read mine and the library copies to pieces. I reread the first one earlier this year and hope to read the rest soon. And I think I read Anne of Green Gables, but don’t remember much. I need to reread those books too.

  6. Sheri permalink
    October 2, 2006 7:23 pm

    My first memory of being a reader was in the first grade. ALl of a sudden I could read everyone under the table (this happened to my son too.. 🙂
    The teacher kept calling on me, Dick and Jane was a breeze…I was ready for more.

    From then on I just remember always having my nose in a book. My favorite childhood books are Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, A Wrinkle in Time, How to eat Fried Worms, Blubber, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing,…OK, basically everything Beverly Cleary or Judy Blume wrote. I loved the Little House on the Prairie books as well. I also loved the nancy Drew series. Should I go on?

  7. October 3, 2006 8:32 am

    The last time I went to visit my parents they led me to a box of books in the garage. My Little House collection, all moldy but intact. I loved that series so much.

  8. October 3, 2006 12:27 pm

    I love(d) those books. Once Soleil can admit to reading (we’ve caught her…long story of her insecurities), I want to read those to her.

    Right now we are reading the Magic Treehouse stories to her. And we read James and the Giant Peach

Leave a Reply

