Skip to content

The Shadow Of The Wind

September 21, 2006

book2.jpgMy first post here at The Written Word is a review of one of my favorite reads this year. I must admit that I had glanced at The Shadow of the Wind, by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, several times while perusing at different book stores. It just never made the final cut until my mother in law actually lent me her copy of the novel after reading it for a book club of her own. I must say that I owe her one and I am heartily sorry that the tiny tyrant ripped the cover off her copy and ate it!

The story is set in 1945 Barcelona and tells the story of young Daniel Sempere. The prologue starts with this line, “I still remember the day my father took me to the Cemetery of Forgotten Books for the first time”. I was hooked from the start. Any story that starts talking about books right off the get go is going to lure me in. The first line from chapter one reads, “A secret’s worth depends on the people from whom it must be kept”. Yummy!  The story goes on to tell how Daniel selects one book from the cemetery that he will always protect. This is the obligation of each person who knows about the cemetery.  He happens to choose “The Shadow of the Wind” by a mysterious author Julian Carax who seems to have fallen off the face of the earth.  Daniel then finds out that someone has been methodically seeking out and destroying all traces of Carax’s work. Daniel sets out to discover who has been doing this and along the way makes lasting friendships, suffers the first broken heart of adolescence, and quite possibly finds his own soulmate (I don’t want to give too much away!).

 I am not quite sure how I would characterize this book…part gothic romance, part adventure and mystery, and certainly part tragedy. One of the reasons I may have loved it so much is because I have been to Barcelona and love to visualize the places in the story. If you happen to be going to Barcelona any time soon, you must get this book! It has all the elements needed to curl up on a comfty chair and read right through to the end (in my humble opinion). If there is any negative to The Shadow Of the Wind it might be that it does drag on a tiny bit at the end, but nothing that truly detracts from the story. As I said earlier this is one selection that makes my “favorite reads” of the year.

Guest Blogged by Maureen

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2006 12:18 pm

    Here is the problem with reading different book blogs – my reading list keeps getting bigger and bigger! Thanks Maureen for the book review!

  2. September 21, 2006 12:28 pm

    I’m right there with you Stephanie! It’s great though, reading these reviews of good novels. I had been reading non-fiction for so long, and then started in on adoption/attachment books, that I’m really enjoying rediscovering fiction. Thanks for the review, Maureen.

  3. September 22, 2006 4:40 pm

    Oh this was one of my most favorite reads last year. Such a great book, especially for a book lover.

Leave a Reply

