Skip to content

magazines everywhere

September 20, 2006

Is it just me, or do you get as excited as I do when you receive a magazine in your mailbox? There is just something about a magazine that is so appealing. It is the perfect “I only have five minutes to look at something” type of reading material.

I used to have a magazine addiction problem and would buy endlessly. This was back before I was a stay-at-home mom and had lots of disposable income. Now I have cut down on my magazines subscriptions considerably because of the cost, so I don’t get half as many as I used to. I also try to stay away from the magazine racks at the local bookstore.

Today though I had a few extra bucks on me and decided to splurge a little bit. I just couldn’t help myself! I picked up Bookmarks (you know, so I can read about reading) Country Living (with the cutest pumpkin cake on the cover), a scrapbooking magazine and a parenting magazine. It took all the self control in me to put back the knitting one.

 

So tonight, after my daughter is tucked into bed, you know where you can find me – right in this wicker chair enjoying some “me” time with magazines.

 – Stephanie

P.S. For those of you interested (and you know who you are) the parenting magazine Wonder Time (Fall 2006) has an article called From Hangzhou to Here, about the ten year reunion of families who traveled to China to adopt their daughters.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2006 2:41 pm

    Maybe I can sit in the other wicker chair and look at one while you look at the other? I buy magazines occasionally but I’ve real had to put the skids on when it comes to buy those little recipe books by the checkout counter. It’s funny because I really don’t cook all that much, but I sure love to read the recipes and look at the pictures. I’ve finally convinced myself I can find a recipe for anything on the computer.

  2. September 20, 2006 4:19 pm

    I love yarn/knitting mags. That would have been a hard one for me to put back. Enjoy your mag-time tonight, Stephanie!!

  3. September 20, 2006 11:07 pm

    Y’know, there are a few magazines that I love and buy, and once in awhile I’ll pick something new up on impulse, but invariably they all sit there unread. The one exception is Mental Floss.

    Bookmarks is a case of ‘TMI’ for me. I find the volume of info (but not necessarily details) a little overwhelming.

  4. September 22, 2006 4:18 am

    I think this addiction runs in our family. Meme had it too. I haven’t been able to stop mine so far. I have bought at least 20 this month. I try to read 1 a day while I am outside at the park watching Darrian. Of couse now that I’m one handed I can use it as an excuse, like the doctor wants me to rest.

  5. September 22, 2006 9:53 am

    I had to laugh reading this. Since becoming a parent I have become addicted to reading magazines too, such quick and easy reading before bed. And I am such a knitting geek that I will sit and read a knitting magazine from cover to cover. My newest superficial reading is Domino.

  6. October 4, 2006 4:50 pm

    I don’t read magazines too often — wasted BOOK reading time! LOL — but I recently splurged and bought two subscriptions: Chatelaine, and Log Home Living. :o)

    My other fave, fave, fave magazine (that I can never find cheap enough around here) is “PAGES“. If ever there was a Book-Lovers magazine out there, Pages has to be it … I like it better than “Bookmarks”, personally. But, to each his/her own. ;o)

    Happy reading! :o)

Leave a Reply

