Skip to content

Some fun book questions

September 15, 2006

Here’s another set of questions from Booking through Thursday. My answers are in italic.

  • What is your favorite kind/genre of book. How often do you depart from that comfort zone? If you love mysteries, do you ever read fantasy? If you primarily read cookbooks, do you ever read a good romance?  I mostly read fiction, while once in a while sticking my nose into a memoir or two. Usually though, the non-fiction reads are mostly light-hearted. The new book for our on-line book club, Secret Girl by Molly Bruce Jacobs, is a departure for me.
  • How MUCH variety is there in your reading? Do you mostly stick to one type, with just the occasional toe-dip into a different style? Or do you generally read a variety of things, just, maybe more of your favorite style than anything else? I try to read a variety of books. Really, I just want a book that I can curl up with. If that happens to be Hypocrite in a Poufy White Dress, The Kite Runner, The Red Tent, Leap of Faith by Queen Noor or The Hobbit, than so be it!

 Feel free to leave a comment if you want to participate!
 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2006 11:44 am

    I’m like you Stephanie – I read mostly fiction, but a lot of memoirs, and the occasional nonfiction. This has varied over the years. As a parent of a 3 year-old, I tend to do more “escape” reading than I ever used to do, even getting hooked on magazines now b/c they are something I can just read snippets of before falling asleep. I have been reading more short story collections in the last couple of years for the same reasons. Back in my 20s and early 30s I was more into nonfiction – political and social issues. I guess my interests are more personal and close-to-home now, LOL. Oh, and of course, when I first became a parent I read a lot of nonfiction parenting books, but that has eased up too. I love good literature!

  2. September 15, 2006 6:13 pm

    I’m a bit fickle, i guess. I used to enjoy reading
    stuff that was career-oriented (all of that is in a
    box for donation right now…well, a lot of it).
    Now-a-days I like to mix it up. A bit of
    parenting/adoption oriented lit, LOVE knitting books & cookbooks…and anything with interesting, real
    characters. I loved Snowflower – that is one that I
    doubt I’d pick up if I wasn’t in this group! My
    latest purchase? The Quilts of Gee’s Bend. Beautiful.

  3. September 15, 2006 11:26 pm

    I also enjoy fiction, but find myself with autobiographies or memoirs every once in a while. My hubby can get me to read the sci-fi he really likes once in a while. I also love knitting books, cookbooks and anything on adoption or China. I’ve tried to read romances, but gave up on them. I try to throw in a classic every now and then too. I read quite a few Patricia Cornwell novels because the science was interesting to me, but I felt her writing wasn’t that spectacular and the novels were pretty much all the same, so I haven’t gone back to that genre at all.

  4. September 16, 2006 9:08 pm

    I am all over the place when it comes to reading. I will pretty much read anything that comes within my grasp. I have several shelves each of fiction, non-fiction, history, politics, biographies, and profession (social work) related books. I am a true junkie. Lately I have been doing a lot of escapist reading via VERY trashy romance novels. I love romances about brawny highlanders!

  5. September 18, 2006 9:40 pm

    Well, I was an English major and focused mainly on the classics….but college was at least 4,287 years ago! These days, I focus on fiction, some historical fiction, and I try to pick up Pulitzer winners, Pulitzer nominees and Booker Prize novels.

    My favorite books since 2000 are:
    1. THE AMAZING ADVENTURES OF KAVALIER AND CLAY
    2. THE POWER OF ONE
    3. MIDDLESEX
    4. BEL CANTO

    I really loved SNOW FLOWER, too!

Leave a Reply

