Skip to content

Short & Sweet

September 12, 2006

bigstonegap1.jpg

After finished Snow Flower and The Secret Fan and before starting on Little Women I came upon Big Stone Gap by Adriana Trigiani. The books (a series of three, with the four one due out in hardcover at the end of October) were artfully displayed right by the front door of the local Borders store. Being the ultimate consumer (aka sucker) for all “pretty” covers, I just had to pick the first one up.

The story is of Ave Maria Mulligan and her 35th year of life in her hometown of Big Stone Gap. By the second paragraph I was sucked in:

The Wise County Bookmobile is one of the most beautiful sights in the world to me. When I see it lumbering down the mountain road like a tank, then turning wide and easing onto Shawenee Avenue, I flag it down like an old friend. I’ve waited on this corner every Friday since I can remember. The Bookmobile is just a government truck, but to me it’s a glittering royal coach delivering stories and knowledge and life itself. I even love the smell of books. People have often told me that one of their strongest childhood memories is the scent of their grandmother’s house. I never knew my grandmothers, but I could always count on the Bookmobile.

While the story isn’t earthshattering and at times a bit predictable (and somewhat unbeilevable) I still found comfort in this simple, easy to read story. I am looking forward to delving into the next novel in the series, Big Cherry Holler.

P.S. Sorry about the resolution of the photo – I still can’t seem to figure out how to upload photos onto WordPress properly. Also, don’t worry if you see the look of this blog change once in awhile. I get bored easily and love to fool around with the format!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2006 12:07 pm

    I loved LOVED Snow Flower and Secret Fan – read it on the plane coming home from vacation and cried like a babe.

  2. Judy permalink
    September 14, 2006 12:25 pm

    Looks like a cute book!
    Mom

  3. September 16, 2006 4:18 pm

    This looks like something I would like. That paragraph seemed to grab me.

Leave a Reply

