Skip to content

Little Women

September 8, 2006

When I started this on-line book club last month, I didn’t give much thought into how it would work. I just put up a quick post on my other blog and ran with it. I am really pleased to see that we have this many participants and am always happy to get an e-mail saying “sign me up!”

Recently I have been reading various other blogs that primarily talk about books, and I was fortunate enough to stumble across Our Coffee Rings. Oh my, another book blog! Let me tell you how clever Heather (the blog moderator) is. Not only did she send out a questionnaire to all her participants (asking them about what type of genres, interests, reading habits and favorite books) but then organized each month with a different theme. Think Memoirs May, Mystery March, Chick-lit December, Foreign February and my current favorite, Classics September. I enthusiastically signed up, since I am always looking out for new books to read.

That is how I began reading Little Women by Louisa May Alcott (the book selection for Classics September). I remember going to the see the movie version with my Mom (with Winona Ryder as Jo). I loved the movie then and have it here at home, but haven’t watched it in a while. Even though I know the basis of the story, I have to say that the first five chapters of the book that I have read since last night have been wonderful. I would have never picked up this book if it hadn’t been for other people who share their love of books through their blogs. Thanks Heather! Oh, and if you want to join Our Coffee Rings just drop on by!

Now, I better run to the library to request my Secret Girl book. October will be upon us before you know it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2006 2:00 pm

    A warning about book blogs… Your to be read pile will grow at an astounding rate! 🙂 I used to keep a little list of books I wanted to check out but now I actually have an excel file of such list! It’s madness. Beautiful book madness! I’m joining Heather’s group on Little Women. It’ll be interesting to re-read it now as an adult.

  2. September 8, 2006 2:52 pm

    The new site looks great! Looking forward to our new book, although I’m embroiled in several others right now as well!

  3. September 9, 2006 9:30 am

    I am fortunate enough that my grandma used to feed my book love with many classics. Little Women was among them. I read it as a child, and then re-read it as a young adult. I am TOYING with the idea of reading it yet again. But time, TIME, that booger, is scarce.

    Thank you for letting us know about the other book club. I’ll stick to this one for now so that I don’t take on too much.

  4. September 9, 2006 6:31 pm

    I loved Little Women as a child! What a wonderful book. Hope you’re enjoying it. I’m embroiled in a non-fiction book right now, and need to get that one done before I move on to our selection for October.

    I had my mom’s old, worn, hard bound copy of Little Women. I think I”ll pick up a newer version to have on the bookcase for when my little one gets old enough to read it.

  5. September 11, 2006 10:01 pm

    Yikes! I had better finish up Digging to America and go request that book through interlibrary loan. Thanks for the reminder!

  6. September 16, 2006 4:14 pm

    I am not going to read this one because I am not too good at reading books more than once, but I will join you again probably next month. I usually start reading Christmas books around Thanksgiving though, like Harlequin Historicals, just to get me in the holiday mood.

Leave a Reply

