Skip to content

The Plight of the Darcy Brothers (& a giveaway)

August 2, 2009

I was so excited to find out about the publication of The Plight of the Darcy Brothers, second in the series that continues the stories of Elizabeth, Darcy, Jane and Bingley of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Marsha Altman’s first novel, The Darcys and the Bingleys (which I reviewed last year here) followed the two newlywed couples the first few years of marriage. With a mix of humor and drama, I thoroughly enjoyed her first book and couldn’t wait for her second one.

In The Plight of the Darcy Brothers, we now find Elizabeth and Darcy married with a very active toddler son. Elizabeth has been trying to have a second child, but her pregnancies have ended in miscarriage. Her sister Jane also is a mother of three and lives close by with her husband. Shortly after the book begins, there is word from Mary Bennet, younger sister to Elizabeth and Jane, who has been studying in France. She has now come back to England with news that could ruin the reputation of the entire Bennet clan.

It’s up to ever proper Darcy and his lovely wife to save the family from trouble. Elizabeth and Darcy are off on an adventure, first in France and then on to Italy, to clear Mary’s name. Along the way, Darcy learns of some hidden family secrets that will escalate in a confirmation with the ever-scheming Wickham.

Again, Marsha Altman has written a novel that is utterly charming. The book is written with just the right amount of humor and the plot moves at a steady pace, and is just so much fun to read. Which give you a clue as to why I so enjoy Altman’s books. They are just plain fun!! You can tell that the author has a good time writing about the beloved characters of Pride and Prejudice (and who wouldn’t? Just imagine if you took your favorite book and molded the future of the characters).

Having said that, I think this book will ruffle a few feathers of Austen purists. Unlike her first book, I felt that Altman’s plot was a bit far fetched and didn’t feel like the characters integrity were preserved as well as in her first novel. But, I still enjoyed it for what it was – a really enjoyable read.

I read this book for my Everything Austen Challenge and the author was nice enough to offer a SIGNED copy of The Plight of the Darcy Brothers to one lucky winner! To enter all you need to do is leave a comment on this post (and also leave your e-mail address, as I will e-mail the winner directly). For an additional chance to win you can Tweet about this giveaway (@SWrittenWord has a SIGNED copy of The Plight of the Darcy Brothers 4 #everythingausten 2 giveaway! http://tinyurl.com/lze83d) or post about this contest on your own blog. Please note that this giveaway is only open to US residents and you have until Saturday, August 8th at 12 midnight EST to enter. Good luck!!

Also, please stop by Stephanie’s Written Word this Wednesday to read a guest post by Marsha herself!

59 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    August 2, 2009 9:09 pm

    Please include me in your giveaway.
    Thanks
    Debbie
    debdesk9(at)verizon.net

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 2, 2009 9:11 pm

    I post about the contest on Twitter -debdesk.
    Thanks
    Debbie
    debdesk9(at)verizon.net

  3. August 2, 2009 9:19 pm

    I have the first book and would love to add to it! I also tweeted!

    bookingmama(at)gmail(dot)com

  4. August 2, 2009 10:21 pm

    I’d love the chance to win a copy!
    Thanks!

  5. August 2, 2009 10:34 pm

    Don’t include me in the giveaway. I just wanted to say I agree with you about everything. I thought the book was loads of fun, with a nice speckling of Altman’s trademark humor and plenty of action. I do think she went waaaay far from the original characterization and you just have to let the real Jane lie down and roll away, but it’s worth the effort to let go of real Jane and just enjoy the fun. So glad you’re back safely and had a good time!!!

  6. August 2, 2009 10:38 pm

    These books look like they would be good additions to my ‘Everything Austen’ challenge list.

    Unfortunately I’m not eligable for the giveaway :(

    Fiona :)

  7. August 2, 2009 10:48 pm

    I’d love to win this book! Please enter me in the giveaway. I will post this as well in the side bar of my blog!

    Thanks!
    Suko95@gmail.com

  8. August 2, 2009 11:01 pm

    Please enter me in the contest. I’m always up for good Austenesque books!
    freshbrewedwriter (at) gmail.com

  9. August 2, 2009 11:04 pm

    Some writers are intent on copying the tone and feel of Austen in their sequels, some with great success and some without. I always felt I could never write like Austen anyway (I can’t write contemporary 19th-century fiction because I don’t live in the time and I’m not the literary genius she is) so I wrote the story I wanted to write and could write. The only thing I want is for readers to enjoy it, so I hope you all do.

    • August 3, 2009 7:48 am

      Marsha – I hope that I made it clear in my review that I truly enjoyed your novel, but just wanted to point out that some people who are HUGE Austen fans may not appreciate storyline. I personally had lots of fun reading The Plight of the Darcy Brothers and am looking forward to your third book.

      Maybe Nancy (aka Bookfool) wrote it better than me when she commented “I thought the book was loads of fun, with a nice speckling of Altman’s trademark humor and plenty of action. I do think she went waaaay far from the original characterization and you just have to let the real Jane lie down and roll away, but it’s worth the effort to let go of real Jane and just enjoy the fun.”

      • August 3, 2009 6:55 pm

        I understand. I was just letting people know that some authors took the purist route, so that fiction is there for them (though a real purist wouldn’t be reading sequels anyway).

  10. August 2, 2009 11:13 pm

    Oh, pick me! Pick me!!

  11. August 2, 2009 11:55 pm

    Please enter me in the contest. There are at least 4 people here who would want to read the book.

    terric@wtrt.net

  12. August 3, 2009 12:09 am

    I love free things! Thanks…I will post this on my blog tomorrow and leave another comment! Woot, love contests!

  13. August 3, 2009 12:19 am

    So cool – I have been wanting to read this one! :) I am posting this to my giveaway page as well.

  14. August 3, 2009 9:12 am

    I’d love to be entered for this giveaway! Here’s my email:
    lucy_bertoldi@hotmail.com

    I will twitter also:)

  15. August 3, 2009 9:36 am

    Thanks for this review.

    Thanks to the Everything Austen challenge I have rediscovered my loved for the Eliza and Darcy so would love to read this book.
    My email is baileysandbooks(at)gmail(dot)com.

    And I will certainly tweet about this too!

  16. August 3, 2009 9:53 am

    This book sounds fantastic! What a fun read!! I would love to read this book – throw my name into the hat! Cheers!!

  17. August 3, 2009 10:01 am

    This looks fantastic!

  18. August 3, 2009 10:02 am

    I so enjoy books that imagine where our favorite characters have gone since we last left them. One of my favorites is SCARLETT, the sequel to GONE WITH THE WIND.

    Thanks for this giveaway. I tweeted (@bookchickdi) and posted it on my blog here: http://bookchickdi.blogspot.com/2009/08/win-copy-of-plight-of-darcy-brothers.html

    I’m enjoying the Everything Austen Challenge- can’t wait to watch PRIDE & PREJUDICE next!

    laruediane2000(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. August 3, 2009 10:40 am

    Ooohh I love P&P Sequels!!! Count me in!
    Jaime.huff1@gmail.com

    I just posted this on twitter. I am historyslover

  20. August 3, 2009 11:13 am

    I can’t wait to read this one! I really enjoyed the Darcy’s and the Bingleys. I thought that Altman really writes in Austen’s style.

  21. August 3, 2009 12:03 pm

    You know I’ve got “The Darcy’s and the Bingleys” on my challenge list… so I need this one to continue the story! ;)

  22. Wanda permalink
    August 3, 2009 2:53 pm

    Please enter my name in your draw. Thanks.
    wandanamgreb (at) gmail (dot) com

  23. August 3, 2009 4:34 pm

    Please enter me!

    nbmars AT yahoo DOT com

  24. August 3, 2009 5:31 pm

    Ooo, I’d like to read this!

    butterflythunder AT sbcglobal DOT net

  25. August 3, 2009 5:52 pm

    I would love to be a part of this draw. I came over from Suko’s blog.

  26. August 3, 2009 7:49 pm

    Sounds like a great read – can’t wait to get my hands on it
    Don’t enter me though – I’m in Australia. :-)

  27. August 3, 2009 8:55 pm

    so glad you enjoyed this one–I did too! no need to enter me, i just wanted to see your review! i agree that altman is a talented writer–her attention to detail helps the books feel so authentic!

  28. Raelena permalink
    August 4, 2009 2:14 am

    Count me in please!
    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  29. Grad School Mommy permalink
    August 4, 2009 1:00 pm

    how can you go wrong with the Darcys?? sounds like fun!

    yes, please. :)

    tworboy(at)hotmail(dot)com

  30. etirv permalink
    August 4, 2009 7:36 pm

    I would love to be entered, thanks!

  31. August 4, 2009 9:46 pm

    Frustrated once again that Australia is so far away from all the great book giveaway action. :-(

    Oh well. I shall add both these books to my book wishlist and will tweet the competition anyway. Good luck everyone.

  32. August 4, 2009 10:11 pm

    Thanks for offering this contest!

    tammy.gillmore@gmail.com

  33. August 4, 2009 10:16 pm

    I would love to read this book!

  34. August 4, 2009 10:24 pm

    This sounds like fun – please count me in!

    I’ll post a link to this contest on my blog’s sideroll.

    Thanks for the contest.

    http://startingfresh-gaby317.blogspot.com/

    I’m just signing up for the Everything Austen Challenge – this would be a perfect addition to it.

    Gaby

  35. August 4, 2009 10:28 pm

    I just posted about the giveaway and The Everything Austen Challenge on my blog

    http://startingfresh-gaby317.blogspot.com/2009/08/everything-austen-challenge.html

    Thanks again!

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

  36. August 4, 2009 10:37 pm

    I tweeted about the giveaway too

    http://twitter.com/startingfreshny

    thanks!

    gaby317nyc AT gmail DOT com

  37. cheryl stillwell permalink
    August 4, 2009 11:00 pm

    I would like to read with the children, please enter me in the giveaway.
    enyl(at)inbox(dot)com

  38. Sue permalink
    August 5, 2009 1:33 am

    This book looks like fun. I’m a Mr. Darcy nut… Thanks for sharing!

    smickelson1993 at yahoo dot com

  39. August 5, 2009 5:53 am

    sounds like a fun end-of-summer read, so please enter me in your contest! I’ll go mention it on my blog right now…

  40. Robin permalink
    August 5, 2009 8:05 am

    Would love to win this! I’ll tweet about it also (I’m readinrobin on Twitter)!

    rmayerhoefer at cox dot net

  41. August 5, 2009 9:09 am

    I’d so very much love to be added to the hat too! :) I twittered over at @OV_099. . . and you can find me at OV_099@yahoo.com – and it’s great sounding stuff! :)

    Lois

  42. August 5, 2009 3:09 pm

    I would LOVE to win this book – thanks so much!

    libneas[at]aol[dot]com

  43. August 5, 2009 11:21 pm

    The Darcy’s with children!!! I don’t think I’ve ever read any books where they had little Darcy’s running around! I’d love this book! Please enter me! I’ll post about it on my blog too!

  44. August 6, 2009 12:52 am

    Oh please enclude me in the giveaway…thanks again for doing this..

    Devon

  45. karstrel permalink
    August 6, 2009 2:57 am

    Yay books! lol!!
    booklovingfool@gmail.com

  46. Emily K permalink
    August 6, 2009 9:50 am

    The books sounds like fun. I’ve posted it on Twitter (EMNK) and will post about it on my blog. Thank you for doing this.

  47. August 6, 2009 12:51 pm

    Please include me in the giveaway. Thanks!

  48. August 6, 2009 7:16 pm

    I haven’t heard of this book or this author. I’d love to read this one even though I haven’t read the first in the series. I’m a sucker for a good sequel.

  49. August 6, 2009 8:47 pm

    This sounds great! I enjoyed the recent book about Mary, so I’m really getting into these books based on the originals.

  50. August 7, 2009 5:28 pm

    I almost cried at the very end of the post where it says restricted to US citizens only!!!! How sad.

    Mystica

  51. Julie permalink
    August 9, 2009 7:42 am

    Drat! Missed by a few hours!

  52. August 11, 2009 5:14 pm

    Another Austen book I haven’t seen. Enter me, Please!!

  53. August 11, 2009 5:15 pm

    Forget it. I just reread and it said the 8th, I thought it said 18th.

  54. Mary D permalink
    August 12, 2009 12:52 pm

    I’m just getting into the Austen thing – and this one looks like so much fun (love that cover!)
    Please count me in to win :)

Trackbacks

  1. The Plight of the Darcy Brothers by Marsha Altman « Ardent Reader

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

