Skip to content

Once Upon A Time…

March 20, 2008

bookshelf 010

Wouldn’t it be nice if all stories started with Once Upon a Time? When I was a little girl, I remember my Mom reading me plenty of stories that started with those four simple words. Now that my own daughter is learning to read and write, it makes me smile each time she sits down to write her own little story, always starting off with Once Upon a Time.

Many of the books that I read now are not the kind of magical Once Upon a Time stories that I remember. Last year, when Carl hosted the first Once Upon a Time Challenge, I had just found his blog, but did not join in. To be honest, I just didn’t think there were really any books in the fable, fantasy, folklore or mythology genre that would appeal to me.

Then, in August, after coming home from China with my youngest daughter, I read the final Harry Potter book. This was a series that I absolutely loved and even though none of the books started with Once Upon a Time, they all had a magic about them that I realized I would soon be missing. So I started purchasing books, here and there, in anticipation of Carl’s second Once Upon a Time Challenge.

bookshelf 004

And here we are, spring of 2008 and the official kick-off of Once Upon a Time II! I’m participating in the Quest the First, where I pick five books that fit within the challenge criteria. I threw in one additional book for good measure. Here’s the official list:

Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

The Stolen Childby Keith Donohue

Once Upon a Marigold by Jean Ferris

A Wrinkle in Timeby Madeleine L’Engle

The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

Are you going to join in too? Just stop by Carl’s blog to find out more.

31 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2008 9:59 pm

    I like the looks of this stack! I read Tuck Everlasting in one sitting, to preview it before giving it to my 10 year old. We both loved it (although I loved it more–she thought it was a little weird).

  2. March 20, 2008 10:03 pm

    Lisa – The great thing about reading some of these books for young readers is the fact that I can save the books I enjoy for my kids!

  3. March 20, 2008 11:53 pm

    I love book covers, and that’s a beautiful TBR pile.
    And what about Happily Ever After? I think it’s the best companion for Once Upon a Time.

  4. March 21, 2008 12:08 am

    I LOOOOOVE Once Upon a Marigold!!! Glad you’re joining in and what a fabulous picture of your books. Very cool!

  5. orchidus permalink
    March 21, 2008 12:11 am

    A very creative display of your chosen books! Ah, I hope you enjoy A Wrinkle in Time. That book is filled with memorable characters and imagination and is just simply amazing. Hope you enjoy your Once Upon a Time experience! Thanks for stopping by my blog. :]

  6. March 21, 2008 4:30 am

    I’m going to give this challenge a miss as I don’t have any of the right genre on my TBR and really can’t go and buy anything new right now!

    However… I have just added three of your challenge titles to my wish list – which is growing by the second… roll on Christmas!

    Hope you enjoy The Book of the Lost Things – I loved it :)

  7. March 21, 2008 7:40 am

    I wasn’t going to join the Once Upon a Time challenge because I am not a big fantasy reader, but after seeing your list I think I am going to join! I think I have been missing out! I put several of your picks on my list too. I especially think that I will like Shannon Hale and have been wanting to read Austenland! Thanks for posting your picks!

  8. March 21, 2008 10:25 am

    Again with the awesome book photos. :)

    This challenge sounds really interesting. Of course I am only finding out about it now, so like you last year, I think I will wait until it comes round again next year (need to try and remember this though!).

    That’s a mighty fiiiine lookin’ pile o’ books you got there, too! I am looking forward to reading the reviews because I might want to add them to my wishlist…

    Also need to say that I LOVED A Wrinkle in Time when I had to read it for school (6th grade, maybe?) I hope you enjoy it. And I should buy myself a new copy and re-read it now that I am in my 30s and see if I still love it.

  9. March 21, 2008 10:50 am

    I’ve got The Stolen Child on my list too :)
    Enjoy your books!

  10. March 21, 2008 10:53 am

    I’ve read all these books except one and you’ve got some fun, fun reading ahead!

  11. March 21, 2008 11:44 am

    Love your pictures of books :) Sounds like a fun challenge…I’m off to check out Carl’s website! Enjoy the books!

  12. March 21, 2008 12:41 pm

    I think your pile looks great! And love your photos. I just wanted to comment that I am not normally a sci fi/fantasy reader myself, but I really enjoyed The Stolen Child. I thought the story was really creative and it had great character development. Enjoy your books!

  13. March 21, 2008 4:01 pm

    I am going to check your list out to see if one of these would appeal to me. It seems like a great list.

  14. March 21, 2008 6:53 pm

    Great picks! And those are some beautiful photos. I like the angles you used.

    I absolutely loved The Book of Lost Things. I hope you do too :)

  15. March 22, 2008 1:31 am

    What an awesome list Stephanie!! I love The Book of Lost Things and a Wrinkle in Time. In fact, The Book of Lost Things was one of my favorite reads of last year. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Love the pics!

  16. March 22, 2008 4:46 am

    Love your little book pile! I have Tuck Everlasting and The Goose Girl on my list too, just haven’t posted it yet.

  17. March 22, 2008 4:14 pm

    What a great list! I really enjoyed The Stolen Child, and of course A Wrinkle in Time is an old favorite. That Once Upon a Marigold is new to me, I might add it to my TBR.

  18. March 22, 2008 10:33 pm

    Great pile! I’ve only read The Goose Girl (which I loved) so I’m looking forward to all of your reviews!

  19. March 23, 2008 8:12 am

    I read “A Wrinkle In Time” in 5th grade Language Arts and just LOVED it. I haven’t revisited it since but maybe I should. I have a few fantasy, other-world books on my TBR shelf that I may just have to dig into sooner than later.

  20. March 23, 2008 8:38 am

    I already posted my list, and I’m so excited about this challenge. I really enjoyed Tuck Everlasting and The Stolen Child. I hope you like them as much as I did.

    I also have The Book of Lost Things on my list, and I can’t wait to get around to it.

  21. March 23, 2008 6:50 pm

    There is something about a group of books that sets my heart beating fast. I like your choices for the challenge. Much fun ahead.

  22. Wendy permalink
    March 25, 2008 10:54 am

    Oooooh, I love these titles–I will definitely add them to my list of TBR. Thanks Stephanie!

  23. March 26, 2008 11:57 am

    Great list. I’ve read The Stolen Child (loved it), A Wrinkle in Time and Tuck Everlasting (when I was a kid). The Book of Lost Things is on my list as well. I can’t wait to read it. We’ll have to compare notes :)

  24. March 26, 2008 5:56 pm

    Lots of really good books there!

  25. March 27, 2008 9:27 am

    I loved A Wrinkle in Time. I must have read it at least twenty times between the ages on 10 to 18. It was my go-to book when I was feeling lonely and ackward.

    I’m intrestest in reading your review on Once Upon a Marigold, I’m on the fence about wether or not to order it from the library. I’ve already reserved the Stolen Child.

  26. March 27, 2008 11:46 am

    I thought I had left a comment here a few days ago, but maybe I just read the post. My brain is going crazy–almost as crazy as my google reader after a few days without Internet.

    Great titles and your books look so beautiful! I looked for a used copy of A Wrinkle in Time last night but couldn’t find one. I’ve always wanted to read it, so I’ll be looking forward to your review.

  27. April 19, 2008 9:34 am

    Hi there, just had to leave a comment to say I love your choices. I LOVED Book of Lost Things and The Stolen Child. Would love to know your thoughts on them. I think I’ll be looking into the other books in that pile.

  28. January 7, 2013 12:23 pm

    Hiya very nice website!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?I am happy to seek out so many helpful information right here within the publish, we’d like develop more techniques on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

Trackbacks

  1. Stainless Steel Droppings » Once Upon a Time II
  2. The Book of Lost Things « The Written Word
  3. Odds & Ends « The Written Word

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

